Winners of the Second Cycle of the Zairi International Awards for Excellence in Higher Education Announced

Following the symposium on “Advancing Sustainably as a Core Purpose of Higher Education: Strategies, developments and lessons learnt” the winners of the second cycle of the Zairi Intentional Awards for Excellence in Higher Education were announced in a sumptuous award ceremony and gala dinner.

Winners to the Award were selected among 12 nominated higher education institutions from 12 different countries and are as follows:

  • Award of Excellence for Digital Transformation: International University of Health Sciences, St Kitts and Nevis
  • Award of Excellence for Research Impact: National University of Science & Technology, Sultanate of Oman
  • Award of Excellence for Internationalization: University Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy
  • Award of Excellence for Outstanding Non- Profit Contribution to the Community: Jointly awarded to Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the University of Global Health Equity in Rwanda

No winners were announced for the two categories on disruptive education and on equity and inclusion for this cycle as the applications submitted did not meet the award criteria.

Within context of the awards, Dr. Hadj-Hamou said “The Zairi International Awards for Excellence in Higher Education are an annual international recognition honoring higher education institutions that are addressing global educational challenges and are creating impact in their own context through embracing excellence and innovation in specific areas pertinent to digital transformation, research impact, service to the community, internationalization, equity, etc. and in a sustainable manner. The awards named after the late Professor Mohamed Zairi; one of the pioneers in the field of quality and excellence who has passed away in October 2021 to commemorate his name. We congratulate all the winners for this second cycle as well as all the 12 higher education institutions which were shortlisted and look forward to receiving applications from new geographies for the next cycle that will open on the first of May, 2023”.